HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Feb, 3 (SEND2PRESS NEWSWIRE) — The winners are in! Chop Shop’s Alexandra Patsavas, Live Nation’s Creighton Burke and Universal Music & Video Distribution’s Jim Urie won by a landslide in the 2009 Best of the Biz List from NARIP (National Association of Record Industry Professionals), which recognizes excellence and high professional standards in our business. NARIP’s list identifies top-level executive talent and know-how in major areas of the record and music industries.

NARIPThis year NARIP’s poll generated nearly five times as many votes as last year. Several individuals stand out because they won by such wide margins in their respective categories and deserve additional applause for this: Alexandra Patsavas, Best Music Supervisor; Creighton Burke, Best Concert Promoter Executive; Jim Urie, Best Traditional Record Distribution Executive; Josh Rabinowitz, Top Music-Ad Agency Executive; Rick Rubin, Best Music Producer.

NARIP congratulates all the nominees and winners. A toast to excellence!


The National Association of Record Industry Professionals (NARIP) promotes education, career advancement and good will among record executives. With an emphasis on becoming better informed and more effective executives, NARIP offers professional development opportunities, educational programs and seminars, the opportunity to meet and interact with peers, a job bank, a member resume database for employers, a mentor network, a newsletter and other services.

NARIP was created specifically for – and is restricted to – record industry professionals. To qualify for membership, you must work at a major or independent label, record distributor, record marketing or personal management firm. Lawyers, publicists and consultants whose main client base is the record business are also welcome.

A toast to excellence! And the awards go to:

Top Artist Manager (6 nominees)
Ian Montone (34.6-percent of the vote)
Irving Azoff
Jim Guerinot

Best Source for Music Business News (6 nominees)
Billboard (50.6-percent of the vote)
Digital Music News

Best Concert Promotion Company (6 nominees)
Live Nation (49-percent of the vote)

Best Concert Promoter Executive (7 nominees)
Creighton Burke of Live Nation (30.7-percent of the vote)
Bill Silva, Bill Silva Presents
Paul Tollett, Goldenvoice

Top Consultant / Strategist (5 nominees)
Ann Jones, Music Today (40.5-percent of the vote)
Eugene Foley, Foley Entertainment
Thomas A. White

Best Digital Distribution Company (6 nominees)
iTunes (51.2-percent of the vote)
IRIS Distribution
Independent Distribution Collective

Best Traditional Distribution Executive (6 nominees)
Jim Urie, Universal Music & Video Distribution (37.3-percent of the vote)
Bob Frank, KOCH Distribution
Steffen Franz, Independent Distribution Collective

Best Traditional Distribution Company (5 nominees)
Universal Music & Video Distribution (48.3-percent of the vote)
KOCH Distribution
Fontana Distribution

Top Marketing Professional, Online or Traditional (8 nominees)
Liz Heller, Buzztone (16.8-percent of the vote)
Jackie Wilgar, Live Nation
Allison McGregor, CAA

Top Music Business Attorney (6 nominees)
Don Passman (28.4-percent of the vote)
Dina LaPolt
Jeffrey T. Light

Top Music Business Writer / Journalist (7 nominees)
Carrie Borzillo-Vrenna, RollingStone.com / Suicide Girls (20.8-percent of the vote)
Jon Pareles, New York Times
Susan Butler, Billboard

Top Music Producer (6 nominees)
Rick Rubin (39.7-percent of the vote)
Mark Ronson

Top Music Publishing Company (6 nominees)
EMI Music Publishing (29.4-percent of the vote)
Cherry Lane Music Publishing
Bug Music

Top Music Publishing Executive (7 nominees)
Big John Platt, EMI Music Publishing 28-percent of the vote)
Martin Bandier, Sony/ATV
Richard Stumpf, Cherry Lane

Top Music Supervisor (9 nominees)
Alexandra Pastavas (30.4-percent of the vote)
P.J. Bloom, Neophonic
Gary Calamar

Top New Media Executive (5 nominees)
Tie between Bryn Boughton, IRIS Distribution/BlinkerActive and Heather Luttrell, IndieClick, both (28.8-percent of the vote)
Ethan Kaplan, Warner Bros. Records
Richard Conlon, BMI

Top Publicist (7 nominees)
Christopher Buttner, PRThatRocks.com (21.7-percent of the vote)
Alexandra Greenberg, Mitch Schneider Organization
Angelica Cob-Baehler, Virgin Records

Top Radio Promotion Executive (6 nominees)
Howard Rosen, Howard Rosen Promotion (33.2-percent of the vote)
Chris Lopes, Interscope Records
Bill Burrs, RCA Records

Top Record Company President or CEO (7 nominees)
Jimmy Iovine, Interscope Records (33.5-percent of the vote)
Doug Morris, Universal Music Group
Ken Cmar, Wonderdrug Records

Top Retailer (7 nominees)
ITunes (44-percent of the vote)

Top Sales Executive (6 nominees)
Amy Zaret, Warner Bros. Records (25.9-percent of the vote)
Ron Spaulding, Fontana
Dave Stein

Top Auditor / CPA (6 nominees)
Fred Wolinsky (22.6-percent of the vote)
Matt Jones
Matt Hurewitz

Top Royalty Tracker / Collector (5 nominees)
Jon R. Hichborn, Records On The Wall (38.8-percent of the vote)
Eric Palmquist, Walt Disney Music Company
Julia Burzan, AMRA

Best music business conference or event (9 nominees)
SXSW (41.3-percent of the vote)
Tie between CMJ and Billboard Film & TV

Best music or record industry association(s) (3 nominees)
Association of Independent Music Publishers (49.6-percent of the vote)
California Copyright Conference
Recording Academy

Top Music-Brand Executive (7 nominees)
Steffan Franz & Greg Gordon, epiphyterecords.com (21.7-percent of the vote)
Del Bryant, BMI
Bryn Boughton, BlinkerActive

Top Brand-Music Executive (6 nominees)
Chad Vogelsong, JVC (24.7-percent of the vote)
Dante Piacenta, Elias Arts
Ember Harker, Creative Metaphor Design

Top Music-Ad Agency Executive (5 nominees)
Josh Rabinowitz, Grey (34.1-percent of the vote)
Ryan Fitch, Saatchi & Saatchi
Paul Greco, Young & Rubicam

Top Music-Friendly Brand (6 nominees)
Apple (66.8-percent of the vote – wow!)

Top Music-Brand Firm (8 nominees)
Cornerstone (30-percent of the vote)
Rock River Music

For more information, visit:

*(LOGO 72dpi: Send2Press.com/wire/images/09-0203-NARIP_72dpi.jpg)

All trademarks and service marks are the property of the respective parties.

News issued by: National Association of Record Industry Professionals

National Association of Record Industry Professionals

Original Image: https://www.send2press.com/wire/images/09-0203-NARIP_72dpi.jpg

# # #

Original Story ID: (4679) :: 2009-02-0203-004

Original Keywords: Best in the Biz awards, National Association of Record Industry Professionals, NARIP, Tess Taylor, top-level executive talent and know-how in major areas of the record and music industries, Chop Shop, Alexandra Patsavas, Live Nation, Creighton Burke, Universal Music Video Distribution, Jim Urie National Association of Record Industry Professionals

News Source: National Association of Record Industry Professionals